I was trawling through the internet looking for a new craft to try and found this blog post on Kumihimo. Sounds easy to pick up and hard to put down. Just the sort of craft I like!

52 crafts in 52 weeks

This week has been full of beautiful sunshine, sketching and crafting – and quite a bit of eating. If you’re interested in seeing what I’ve been up to, head over to my paper and cloth blog. Now, on with week 45…

Making kumihimo in the garden

Phiona (aka @RareNotions) challenged me this week to try a craft I’d never even heard of: Kumihimo.

Any idea what it is? After googling, I found out. Kumihimo is the Japanese craft – so many of my favourite crafts are Japanese aren’t they? – of braiding. The resultant braids are used as ties for jackets and obi – they were once used by samurai as a decorative way to lace their armour.

Kumihimo

As I near the end of my 52 weeks I’m trying to save some money and not buy new equipment for every craft so I was keen to find a DIY alternative to the braiding disc…

View original post 335 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Read this and laughed! I’m also a person who likes to try new things and end up getting caught all up in them! Beware kumihimo! It/s addicting. I have key chains and dog leashes and bracelets and necklaces with nothing to hang from them. What fun, combining colors and patterns!

    • Ah now you’ve given me an idea there. The dog could do with a new lead 🙂

      I popped across to look at your cuff bracelets. They are very good, as is your gothic collection. I’ve subscribed to your blog now and am looking forward to seeing what you make next. 🙂

Leave a Reply

